# **Canberra TV Stations**

1 November 2011

There are five TV transmitting organisations in Canberra. Each organisation has a transmitter on Telstra Tower Black Mountain, for a total of five transmitters. Likewise there are five TV repeaters each, on both Mount Taylor (15 Watts, serves Weston Creek and Woden areas) and Tuggeranong Hill (160 Watts). Each transmitter/repeater carries multiple digital TV/radio channels, as shown below. Note that for each channel number, the *first digit* tells you which organisation. For example, all channel numbers beginning with "3" come from SBS.

### ABC – Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Number	Name	Resolution	
2	ABC1	576i	
21	ABC1	576i	
22	ABC2 / ABC4	576i	
23	ABC3	576i	
24	ABC News 24	720p	

### SBS – Special Broadcasting Service

Number	Name	Resolution	
3	SBS ONE	576i	
30	SBS HD	720p	
32	SBS TWO	576i	
33	SBS 3	576i	
34	SBS 4	576i	

### Southern Cross Ten

Number	Name	Resolution	
5	SC10 Canberra	576i	
50	ONE Canberra	1080i	
55	ELEVEN	576i	

### Prime Seven

Number	Name	Resolution	
6	PRIME7 Canberra	576i	
60	PRIME7 Canberra	576i	
61	PRIME7 Canberra	576i	
62	7TWO Canberra	576i	
63	7mate Canberra	1080i	
64	Television 4	576i	

#### WIN Nine

Number	Name	Resolution	
8	WIN Canberra	576i	
80	GEM Canberra	1080i	
88	GO! Canberra	576i	

# NumberNameNotes38SBS Radio 139SBS Radio 2200ABC Dig MusicInfo at: abcdigmusic.net.au201ABC JazzInfo at: abcjazz.net.au

## Digital Radio

# **Obsolete Analog TV Frequencies**

The transmitters/repeaters using these frequencies are due to be turned off on 5 June 2012 [2]. The frequency given is the video carrier frequency [1].

Name	Black Mountain	Mt Taylor	Tuggeranong
ABC1	VHF9 196.25MHz	UHF55 716.25MHz	UHF60 751.25MHz
SBS ONE	UHF28 527.25MHz	UHF58 737.25MHz	UHF54 709.25MHz
SC10 Canberra	VHF7 182.25MHz	UHF67 800.25MHz	UHF63 772.25MHz
PRIME7 Canberra	UHF34 569.25MHz	UHF64 779.25MHz	UHF69 814.25MHz
WIN Canberra	UHF31 548.25MHz	UHF61 758.25MHz	UHF66 793.25MHz

## **Digital TV Frequencies**

Organisation	Black Mountain	Mt Taylor & Tuggeranong
ABC	VHF9A 205.50MHz	UHF59 746.50MHz
SBS	UHF30 543.50MHz	UHF57 732.50MHz
Southern Cross Ten	VHF6 177.50MHz	UHF62 767.50MHz
Prime Seven	VHF12 226.50MHz	UHF68 809.50MHz
WIN Nine	VHF11 219.50MHz	UHF65 788.50MHz

Each digital transmitter/repeater [3] occupies 7MHz of bandwidth, the same as one old analog TV channel. The frequency given is the centre of the occupied band [1]. Notice that the Mt Taylor and Tuggeranong repeaters share frequencies. The ability to do this, without causing unacceptable interference, is one of the benefits of the DVB-T digital TV system.

# References

- 1. 2011 Australian TV Channel / Frequency Chart http://vk3khb.gak.net.au/atv/chnlchrt.html
- 2. Digital TV Switchover Australia http://www.digitalready.gov.au
- 3. Australian Communications and Media Authority http://www.acma.gov.au

# Copyright

This document is placed in the public domain. The date at the top refers to the date when it was last revised. To get the latest version, please go to http://www.netspeed.com.au/adglenn . Corrections are invited.